Prof Ricardo Climent

Professor of Interact Music Composition

Full contact details
View graph of relations


Ricardo Climent is Professor of Interactive Music Composition at University of Manchester, UK, where he serves as director of the NOVARS Research Centre and as head of Composition. For the last few years his research has focused on the potential of game-audio, physics and graphic engines for compositional purposes, using ‘the aural’ as the primary source for navigation and exploration. He previously held a lecturing position at SARC, (Sonic Arts Research Centre, Belfast), served as resident composer at the JOGV Orchestra, Spain; Conservatorio of Morelia in Mexico; Sonology - Kunitachi College of Music, Tokyo; LEA labs, at the Conservatorio of Valencia; the Cushendall Tower- In you we trust; Northern Ireland, at CARA- Celebrating Arts in rural Areas, cross-border Ireland, N.K. Berlin and at the Push Festival, Sweden. 
Ricardo co-started collaborative projects, such as: The Microbial Ensemble, (microbial sonification project with Dr Quan Gan), The Carxofa Electric Band (a children's workshop with vegetables and Electronics with Dr Iain McCurdy), The Tornado-Project (a cross-atlantic trio project with Esther Lamneck (clarinet) and Elizabeth McNutt (flute)), Drosophila (a dance-theatre tour of a blind fly with KLEM and Idoia Zabaleta), Ho- a sonic expedition to Vietnam, (a game-audio work),  S.LOW, (a cross-disciplinary project in Berlin involving artists from 34 countries around the world),  LocativeAudio Research Network (co-run by PG students at NOVARS), the Timbila Project ( with Miquel Bernat), CitizenUrge, (with DJ Slim Vic, Sweden), "[5]" -Valencia 1939, including geo-locative data, and "Putney" with Alena Mesarosova, Manuel Ferrer and Mark Pilkington and started the 58/58.
In terms of education, prior to completing a PhD in Electroacoustic Music Composition and a Master of Arts in the same area (both at The Queen's University of Belfast), he obtained a five-year degree in Economics at University of Valencia, Spain and a 3-year degree by FUFAP, Alcala de Henares University (Madrid)/UPV.

NOVARS Research Centre website

NOVARS is a new Research Centre started in March 2007 with specialisms in areas of Electroacoustic Composition, Performance and Sound-Art. Current research strands include game-audio, Space in large multichannel systems and Interactive Art. The Centre is capitalising the success of Music at the University of Manchester with the expansion of its existing research programme in Electroacoustic Composition with a new £2.2 million investment in a cutting-edge new studio infrastructure.
NOVARS is named to reference and celebrate the seminal work by Francis Dhomont (Novars). In his own words 'a reversed version of Ars Nova' - New Art, New Science. We are grateful for his permission to use his title.

Further information


Amores Grup de Percussio, Spanish Brass Luur i Metalls, Joven Orquesta de la Generalitat Valenciana, Pedro Carneiro, Xelo Giner - Kazuhisa Ogawa, Ensamble Las Rosas, Esther Lamneck- Elizabeth McNutt, Carlos Gil, Kontakte Group de Percussio, Darragh Morgan, Miquel Bernat, Auditorio Nacional de Madrid (for Horacio Franco)

Listening area: Click here

Hobbies: I like cycling and meeting friends in Berlin (to play ping-pong, buy DDR stuff or eat Vietnamese food). I used to jump hurdles (athletics), run cross-country and practice windsurfing.  I enjoy encrypting things. In 2011 I joined the 'cycle to work' scheme and deeply regret not having done this before!

Related information


Research output: Non-textual formComposition

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

View all (22)

Student Theses

UoM administered thesis: Phd

UoM administered thesis: Phd

UoM administered thesis: Phd

View all (10)


Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)

View all prizes (1)