Prof Frederick Wu

Emeritus Professor

Full contact details
View graph of relations


After obtaining an intercalated B.Sc. Hon - First Classin Medical Sciences in 1970, I qualified in Medicine from the University of Edinburgh in 1972 and gained Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom in 1975.  

I was awarded a Medical Research Council Clinical Research Fellowship with Professor D.T. Baird C.B.E., at the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Edinburgh 1977 -1979 during which he performed clinical and laboratory research in oestrogen in males and mechanisms of puberty development leading to the award of an MD in 1983.

After completing specialty clinical training in Edinburgh in endocrinology, diabetes and general medicine, I undertook post-doctoral research in testicular physiology at Monash University, Melbourne Australia with Professor David de Kretser. On Returning to Edinburgh, I was appointed Clinical Scientist and Consultant Andrologist at the MRC Reproductive Biology Unit where I developed a research programme on hormonal male contraception and undertook seminal work in the neuroendocrine control of pubertal onset.

I was appointed Senior Lecturer in Medicine (Endocrinology), Department of Medicine, University of Manchester in 1994 and subsequently promoted to a Personal Chair as Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology in 2003. 

Recently listed amongst Britain’s 100Top Doctors (Times Newspaper November 2010), I am acknowledged as an international leader in the field of Endocrinology and androgens.


B.Sc. Hons (First Class) (Edin)  

M.B., Ch.B. (Edin)     

M.R.C.P. (U.K.)                 

Accreditation for Higher Specialist Training in General Medicine, Endocrinology

and Diabetes (Royal Colleges of Physicians)        

M.D. (Edin)  

F.R.C.P. (Edin) 

F.R.C.P. (Lond) 

Memberships of committees and professional bodies

  • 2010 – 2013: Member of the Annual Meeting Steering Committee, Endocrine Society.
  • 2010 – 2014: Chairperson of Accreditation Committee, European Academy of Andrology.
  • 2006 – 2010: President, European Academy of Andrology.
  • 1997 – 2006: Chairman of Examination Committee for the Diploma for Clinical Andrology, European Academy of Andrology.
  • 1997 – present: Member of Executive Council, European Academy of Andrology.
  • 1994 – 2001: Treasurer, International Society of Andrology.
  • 1992 - present: Member of the Steering Committee, Task Force on the Regulation of Male Fertility, World Health Organisation Special Programme of Research, Development and Research Teaching in Human Reproduction.
  • 1997 - present: Founding Member and member of Executive Council of the International Society for the Study of the Ageing Male.
  • 1997 – 1999: Member of the Clinical Committee, Society for Endocrinology.

Research Beacons, Institutes and Platforms

Related information