Prof Albena Yaneva

Chair (Professor Architectural Theory)

Full contact details
View graph of relations

Completed PhD Students

2013-2016 Jeremy James (SEED scholarship award) (1st supervisor) “Lagos Global Project. Architecture and Urban Complexity”

2012-2016 Yu Yoshii “The Role of the Alleyway in East Asia: Forms of Everyday Urban Life in Contemporary China and Japan (1st supervisor)

2012-2016 Athena Moustaka “Reading Comfort Through the Material Agency of Concrete” (2nd supervisor)

2012 – 2016 Ahlam Sharif “The Transferability of Sustainable Design Concepts: The Case of Masdar Eco-City” (1st supervisor)

2012 – 2015 Paul Gottschling (SEED scholarship award) “Competition, Procurement, and the Everyday Design Practices of British Architects” (1st supervisor)

2010-2014 Övgü Pelen, “Living Sites: Rethinking the Social Trajectory of the Tophane Area in Istanbul” (1st supervisor)

2010-2013 Reyhan Sabri, “Rethinking the Past: An Analytic Methodology for Conservation of Islamic Architectural Heritage in Cyprus” (2st supervisor)

2009-2013 Liam Heaphy: “The Politics of Urban Heat: The Role of Modelling in Translating Urban Climate into Policy(1st supervisor)

2008–2012 Julie Crawshaw, “Beyond Targets: Articulating the Roles of Public Art in Support of Sustainable Communities” (1st supervisor)

2006-2010 Jan Fischer, “Sustaining Buildings: Designers as Intermediaries for Carbon Neutral Futures” (2nd supervisor)

2010-2012 Yasser Zarei, “The Challenges of Parametric Design in Architecture Today: Mapping the Design Practice" (1st supervisor - MPhil dissertation)


Current PhD Students

2018 – Alexandra Arenes – SEED scholarship

2018 – Simon Mitchell (AHRC scholarship)

2017 – Ben Blackwell (AHRC – TNW scholarship)

2017 – Demetra Kourri (SEED and Presidential scholarship)

2016 - Stylianos Zavos (SEED scholarship award) (1st supervisor) “The Social Life of Buildings: Architect(ure) Revisited through a Greek Popular Housing Type”

2016 - Brett Mommertseeg (SEED scholarship award) (1st supervisor) “Enacting the Political: Architectural Publics and their Issues”

2016 - Fadi Shayya (Faculty scholarship award) (1st supervisor) “Material Politics of De/Militarization. Transfer of Military Technology and the Scripting of the Urban”

2015 - Garrett Wolf (SEED scholarship) (1st supervisor) ”Demodernization and Development: Transformations of Uzbek Urbanism in the Making”

2014 – Amy Hanley (1st supervisor) “Programme-Space Types: Significant Change and Augmented Realities”

2015 - Garrett Wolf (SEED scholarship) (2nd supervisor) ”Demodernization and Development: Transformations of Uzbek Urbanism in the Making”