Guidance on allergenicity assessment of genetically modified plants

Research output: Other contribution

  • Authors:
  • European Food Safety Authority GMO Panel: Andrew Nicholas Birch, Josep Casacuberta, Adinda De Schrijver, Mikolaj Antoni Gralak, Philippe Guerche, Huw Jones, Barbara Manachini, Antoine Messean, Hanspeter Naegeli, Elsa Ebbesen Nielsen, Fabien Nogue, Christophe Robaglia, Nils Rostoks, Jeremy Sweet, Christoph Tebbe, Francesco Visioli and Jean-Michel Wal.
  • EFSA Self-task group: Philippe Eigenmann, Michelle Epstein, Karin Hoffmann-Sommergruber, Frits Koning, Martinus Lovik, Clare Mills, Francisco Javier Moreno, Henk van Loveren, Regina Selb, Antonio Fernandez Dumont
  • Hanspeter Naegeli
  • Andrew Nicholas Birch
  • Josep Casacuberta
  • Adinda De Schrijver
  • Mikolaj Antoni Gralak
  • Philippe Guerche
  • F. Javier Moreno
  • Regina Selb


This document provides supplementary guidance on specific topics for the allergenicity risk assessment of genetically modified plants. In particular, it supplements general recommendations outlined in previous EFSA GMO Panel guidelines and Implementing Regulation (EU) No 503/2013. The topics addressed are non-IgE-mediated adverse immune reactions to foods, in vitro protein digestibility tests and endogenous allergenicity. New scientific and regulatory developments regarding these three topics are described in this document. Considerations on the practical implementation of those developments in the risk assessment of genetically modified plants are discussed and recommended, where appropriate.

Bibliographical metadata

Original languageEnglish
TypeEuropean Food Safety Authority Guidance
PublisherJohn Wiley & Sons Ltd
Number of pages48
StatePublished - 2017